When I started this blog, I had grand ambitions of posting a soup recipe a few times a month. Well, since October, the closest I’ve gotten was to post a conversation about how gassy a certain cauliflower soup was. Blog-worthy, but not exactly what I’d had in mind.

But today, dear reader, while my kids break stuff trying to get my attention because I’m typing, I bring you the soup we made, hmmm, about two weeks ago. The leftovers have long been snarfed.

I have a love-hate relationship with lentils. While they are tasty little devils, they also cause the geek and I some gastrointestinal distress. Meaning that in the morning when our kids come into the bedroom to wake us up, they’re covering their noses with their forearms, muttering, “What’s that SMELL?”

So you’ve been warned. I also think I’ll kick up the heat a little bit next time.

Soup!

Thai-style lentil and coconut soup (adapted from The Ultimate Soup Bible)

INGREDIENTS
2 tbsp. sunflower oil
2 red onions, finely chopped
1 Thai chile, partially seeded and finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 inch piece lemongrass, outer layers removed and inside finely chopped
1 ½ cup red lentils, rinsed and picked over
1 ½ tsp ground coriander
1 ½ tsp paprika
14 fluid ounces coconut milk
juice of 1 lime
2 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
3 scallions, chopped
scant cup chopped cilantro, chopped
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat the oil in a large pan and add the onions, chile, garlic and lemongrass. Cook for 5 minutes or until the onions have softened but not browned, stirring occasionally.

Add the lentils and spices. Pour in the coconut milk and 4 ½ cups of water. Stir. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 40-45 minutes, until lentils are soft.

Add lime juice, soy sauce and sugar. Add the scallions and cilantro, reserving a little of each for garnish.

Ladle into bowls, garnish, and enjoy!

